Sign up for daily Advent reflections

The Advent season is a time of preparation. In the frenzy of our focus on earthly preliminaries—shopping and baking, wrapping and decorating, organizing pageants and making travel plans—we potentially lose sight of the most important spadework at hand: the need to prepare ourselves spiritually, through daily prayer, for the coming of the Christ child. America is pleased offer daily Advent reflections from Elizabeth Kirkland Cahill. This year, her reflections will explore the theme of prayer through a brief meditation on each day's Scripture readings. We hope that the fruits of these reflections will enhance your own preparation throughout the days of Advent. To sign up to receive these reflections as part of our daily digital highlights, sign up here and check "Digital Content Updates." 

 

Advertisement
First Week of Advent
·      Monday, November 28
·      Friday, December 2

 

Second Week of Advent
·      Sunday, December 4
·      Monday, December 5
·      Tuesday, December 6
·      Friday, December 9

 

Third Week of Advent
·      Sunday, December 11
·      Monday, December 12
·      Friday, December 16
 
Fourth Week of Advent
·      Sunday, December 18
·      Friday, December 23
Comments are automatically closed two weeks after an article's initial publication. See our comments policy for more.
Monica Yaniga
1 year 7 months ago
Thought this was a daily meditation. Where are yesterday's and today's posts?

Advertisement

The latest from america

So what does it matter what a celibate woman thinks about contraception?
Helena BurnsJuly 20, 2018
Former US President Barack Obama gestures to the crowd, during an event in Kogelo, Kisumu, Kenya, Monday, July 16, 2018. (AP Photo Brian Inganga)
In Johannesburg, Obama gave what some commentators consider his most important speech since he vacated the Oval Office.
Anthony EganJuly 20, 2018
With his "Mass," Leonard Bernstein uses liturgy to give voice to political unease.
Kevin McCabeJuly 20, 2018
Cardinal Theodore E. McCarrick, retired archbishop of Washington, arrives for the Jan. 6 installation Mass of Cardinal Joseph W. Tobin at the Cathedral Basilica of the Sacred Heart in Newark, N.J. (CNS photo/Bob Roller)
Women often “bring up the voice of those who are the most vulnerable in our society,” says Hans Zollner, S.J., who heads the Centre for Child Protection in Rome.